Defending You From DUI Charges In West Virginia

The consequences for a driving under the influence conviction in West Virginia can be far more serious than a fine and driver's license suspension. You could face jail time, job loss and years of higher insurance costs.

At Hoover Andrews, PLLC, in Barboursville, our lawyers defend people accused of drunk driving. Based on the facts of your case, our lawyers can negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf or defend you at trial. Even if you failed a breath or field sobriety test, you may have defenses based on police errors during your stop and arrest.

Penalties For A DUI Arrest In West Virginia

Penalties for driving under the influence vary by state. In West Virginia, a first-time arrest for driving a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent can result in:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • A fine of from $100 to $500
  • Six months driver's license suspension

The penalties increase if you have past convictions, you had a minor in the vehicle, you caused an accident that injured another person, or you had a BAC above .08.

One of the most serious consequences of a conviction is a lifetime criminal record, which can affect you in employment and other areas of your life. Before you plead guilty to a DUI offense, seek advice from an experienced DUI defense lawyer.

Protecting Your Driver's License

Following a DUI arrest, you face suspension of your driver's license by the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to request an appeal, your driver's license will be automatically suspended.

To protect your ability to drive, contact our attorneys as soon as possible after an arrest. We will defend you both against the criminal DUI charges and suspension of your driver's license.

If You Have Been Arrested for a DUI, Call Now

To arrange an initial consultation to discuss your options after a DUI arrest, please call 304-521-1040 or toll free at 888-389-5924, or complete our simple contact form.